Step it up lady B

Posted on May 12, 2011

0


My friend Briony has made more than one comment of late re not getting mentions in my blog posts so today Briony, this one’s for you, although you might regret having ever said a word when you read on ….

I first met Briony boxing. We would both be on the mats, thrashing it out at Ignites Box-fit class and I would always admire her amazing technique and formidable strength. We eventually got chatting and not only a great boxer but we instantly gelled. Great gal … super smart, funny, dry and well, just my kinda gal.

We now run at least once a week, plod around the marina discussing news and views, gossiping about who wore what to where and who said what to whom. One conversation I will always remember though is one we had about goals.

She said:

‘I’m not goal driven. I never really set goals. I don’t even really think about them.’

I said / thought:

WHAT?!?!?!?!?

I LOVE goals … I even have spreadsheets for my goals which I call My Compass and I regularly review my short, medium and long terms goals in different areas of my life.

Differences are of course ok … good in fact but in actual fact, this conversation just reminded me that we all just have different approaches. I wear my heart on my sleeve and shout out my goals. Briony on the other hand, just quietly believes and achieves, in pretty much every area of her life.

I know this because:

  • She has a very grown-up job with tons of responsibility … she works hard and has continually succeeded in her career so the WORK & CAREER section of her pie is looking good
  • She is a great friend, a fantastic sister, a supportive wife, an efficient colleague and (apart from when she was a horrid teenager – I kid you not (!)), a fabulous daughter so clearly her FRIENDS & FAMILY slice is sorted
  • She is very gorgeous, has a great figure, eats well and looks after herself so clearly her HEALTH & WELLNESS is looking rosy
  • She is a super sportswomen … as I said, when she boxes, she hits like a man, she, like me, was once a great swimmer and she jumps into any new fitness offering and does it like a pro … oh and she’s a good runner … so clearly when it comes to SPORT & FITNESS, she’s heading north …

… but is she?

I feel that it’s about time she stops just being a training support for me and takes her own training to the next level. Whether this be a 10k in Autumn, a half marathon at Christmas or just a personal goal to improve by time or speed … that’s up to her. (I can tell when she enquires about my events, that a secret hankering is bubbling below the surface!)

And now that I’m an official adidas gal, I can give back for all the support she’s given me and my running by making sure she’s looking hot to trot in some adidas shoes and accompanied by the super cool adidas miCoach.

And seeing as she loves adidas … well, who doesn’t … I think this might just be a compelling enough reason …

I await her feedback.

As for you, if you support someone with their training, why not do same and set yourself a new goal?  

Or if you’re on the other side, encourage those who support you by sharing the love for running, events and setting goals to train towards.  

The rewards are limitless … and the friendships and bonds that result are priceless. But don’t just take my word for it.

Posted in: Uncategorized