Twinkling eyes & secret smiles

Posted on June 6, 2011

4


Yesterday my friend Emily was asking me about how I like to run so much, what I think about and how I keep my busy little mind occupied for so long.

My answer ….? It’s my time to get creative, brainstorm, set goals and plan adventures, sing along to cheesey tunes, listen to audio books and last but certainly not least, get my daily fix of Malcolm and Brandy on the Business Breakfast.  And this is just when running solo.  Often my runs are with girlfriends so the perfect opportunity to put the world to rights, discuss the latest IT bag and who’s hot and who’s not.

But I did go on to say that sometimes it is hard.

Yesterday morning for example, I struggled and had I not been training for an event, an event which I have left myself an absurdly short time to train for, then I would have canned the run 20 minutes in.  Every song on the radio annoyed me, my breathing felt erratic and I had exhausted my entire compendium of mind games in the time it usually takes to decide which one to play. But given my circumstances right now, I soldiered on and let mind take over matter.

This morning however, on the flip side, was a complete and utter joy.  Despite hitting the hay too late and sleeping for too little, my alarm went and I sprang out of bed, literally; eager to get out there and discover the dawn break before anyone else.

I headed out past the Greens and from the word go, I had found it.  I had found my flow.  I then spent 2 ½ hours or so, blissfully running, my legs feeling like they were gliding through honey instead of the peanut butter of yesterday.

I watched the dawn break, the sun begin to shine, birds singing and flowers smiling.

I watched domestic help walk dogs, giggling amongst themselves with animated excitement, I watched workers arrive, preparing for their long arduous day ahead, I watched security guards trade shifts, those finishing, eager to lie down and rest. I watched mums on the school run, a little frantic in case they are late for Pilates. And dads on the school run, a little irate about the sticky fingers on their car upholstery and forgotten homework. I watched older kids mooch along to school, some on bikes, some on foot, the girls trying to look sultry and the boys too cool for skool.

And when I finally got home, just a half hour ago, I remembered this conversation with Emily, and I was reminded why I run. 

It’s because of runs like these.

And I know I shall now spend my day with a twinkle in my eye and a secret smile unable to contain itself.

Because of runs like these.
Posted in: Uncategorized