Searching for solemates

Posted on June 30, 2011

0


Once upon a time my choice of running shoes was determined by two key factors … the extent to which they featured pink (as well as the exact shade of said pink) and the extent to which they would match my running tops, because regardless of whether on the running track or on the catwalk, I consider colour co-ordination of the utmost importance.

And then I started long-distance running.  You see … having neutral feet I think I’d been getting away with a lot more than those who under- or over- pronate, certainly when lower distances were involved.

But factor in the trials of miles and the miles of trials combined with the unforgiving urban terrain of tarmac, tarmac or tarmac and suddenly all manner of problems rear their ugly heads.

So now … in addition to the above, I’ve been really trying to monitor how my feet move in different shoes, how they feel, how I feel, changes in toe nail loss ratios (!) and so on. And for the first time ever, I’m becoming much more sensitive to my soles; what works for me and what doesn’t.

In fact, for the first time ever, I think I’d go so far to say that I’ve finally met my solemate.

There are three pairs that I’ve been trying out recently …. need I mention all adidas?! … adiZeros Tempo’s, Supernova Glides and Cushion Response.

The adiZero Tempo’s are gorgeous and too cool for school; the colours they come in are vibrant and fabulous. And they’re so lightweight, you glide effortlessly in them.  But for me they’re no good for running; either they are too lightweight or I’m too heavy. I now just wear them for cross-training.

The Supernova Glides I’ve been checking out are too rigid for me but some of my girlfriends swear by them.  They are uber comfortable afterall.

As for the Cushion Response?  Remember the childhood story book, The Princess and the Pea? Well for me, the cushioning provided by my adidas Cushion Response shoes is akin to all 100 mattresses in that story and I can run long and far without the slightest feeling of sole despair. They are super supportive yet fabulously flexible … in fact, when I ran the Sundowner 100km in Singapore last Saturday, despite running for 12 hours and 37 minutes, not for one moment, did my feet bother me.

It took me back to all the Facebook updates and photos that followed Comrades runners last month; words and images to convey the bulging blisters and rancid sores suffered by countless fellow runners.

And I thought …

If only everyone was as lucky as me and had met their perfect solemate!

Perhaps the way forward is to think of adidas as the world’s greatest dating agency for your soles? The perfect match is out there somewhere … you just need to find the right pair!

Posted in: Uncategorized