Sweet elete

Posted on July 20, 2011

0


Anyone who hasn’t escaped Dubai’s summer meltdown is currently spending their days in 45c+ temperatures.  As soon as the sun emerges every morning, the air heats up like an industrial-strength fan-assisted oven and even late into the night, there is little respite.

What to do then if you train outdoors … especially if you, like me, are a runner?

Take it inside?  Opt for the treadmill?

No way Jose!  I made my feelings about treadmills quite clear not too long ago in my post The tragedy of the treadmill

The answer is in a little unassuming bottle called Elete; an electrolyte that is fast finding a name amongst Dubai’s top sportsmen and women … and indeed everyone as in this weather, we all need to take our hydration pretty seriously.

In fact, I first heard about Elete on the same day that I was last handing out water to construction workers with The Seeds of Change … I remember thinking what a perfect aid it would be to workers and Stuart Walsh, the man behind Elete in Dubai, tells me that some of the big construction companies are now buying the product in the masses for their workers.  This I was delighted to hear!

But back to me me me!

When running here, I, along with every other runner who braves the Summer temps outdoors, sweat profusely with a capital P.  I can easily return to Casa Tori from running little over an hour looking like I’ve been thrown into a swimming pool.  Of course, this does wonders for the post weekend detox and gives you clean pores and glowing skin … but it also leaves you with a body that is lifeless and parched if hydration levels are not tended to pretty quickly.

Enter Elete!

If you’ve not yet come across it, here’s what you need to know:

  • Elete is a pure electrolyte concentrate you add to water, any beverage or food to replace essential electrolytes lost in sweat and activity
  • It can and should be used to support hydration, muscle function, energy, endurance and heat tolerance
  • Thanks to it’s liquid form, it’s so easy to incorporate into your current routine … just add a couple of drops into your water bottle or your hydration pack
  • The bottle is tiny so you could easily take it with you on a longer run and add when filling up
  • It doesn’t taste of anything … perhaps a little salty when concentrated but when mixed with water, the taste is negligible
  • It contains four key electrolytes; magnesium, chloride, sodium and potassium
  • It doesn’t contain sugars, artificial flavours, colourings or preservatives which sets it apart from most ‘sports’ drinks which may taste good but are laden with sugar

As to where you can buy it? 

A number of places, one of them being Wolfi’s Bike Shop.  I saw Wolfi himself the other day, the guru of Dubai’s cycling scene and when I asked him about Elete, he couldn’t recommend it more.

Try it and reap the benefits.

Power your hydration, improve your performance, enhance your endurance and prevent cramps.

And it might even push you into the realms of being an ‘elete’ athlete!

Posted in: uncategorised