Jebel for Jonathan

Posted on July 22, 2011

5


Around 3am this morning, dozens of cars set off from Dubai in the direction of Jebel Hafeet, a 1,240m mountain with 60 corners and an 8% ascent on the border of Al Ain.  A road snakes up from foot to summit, 13km long in all.

By 5am, the cars were empty and the car park at the bottom of the hill was littered with runners, walkers and a merry band of supporters eagerly awaiting the monstrous effort required to meet the summit.

Why?

Because a dear dear friend of the guys behind the initiative now lies on a life support machine having had a fall on a boat last month. Jon Beeton is his name. He is 27 years old, a friend to many and a husband to Tammy.

Mike Jackson and Marcus Smith from Innerfight organised the event as a fundraiser. It follows a hugely successful testimonial match played two weeks ago at the Sevens.

I imagine others there this morning didn’t know Jon. 

Nor did I. 

But I do know this.

I know that every single person there put in a huge physical and emotional effort to get to the top.

I know that every single person there would have spent more than a few minutes thinking about the utter tragedy that resulted in them being there.

And I know that every single person there would have asked themselves, what possible good can come out of such a dreadful accident … one that leaves a wife without a husband, friends without their mate, family without a son or a brother, teams one man down …

When I asked myself this very question, near the top as the sun was rising, I thought back to a quote I wrote in my post the other day, Wisdom from Wouter;

‘Go for it now. The future is promised to no one.’  Wayne Dyer.

And there lay my answer.  Jon may not ever regain consciousness so do him and everyone who loved him a favour and don’t let this tragic loss of life be in vein.

Live every day like it’s your last and cherish every moment.  And when anyone ever asks you why you do crazy things like run up mountains in the heat of a Dubai summer, tell them you do it because you can.  

Life is like a coin.  You can spend it any way you wish, but you only spend it once.  

Posted in: uncategorised