Running, dating … & not settling!

Posted on August 17, 2011


This morning I peeled myself out of bed a little after five am.  The excitement post puppy viewing last night had kept me up late! But I’d arranged a running date with Fiona and had a 40-minute run to reach our meeting point in the marina.

But half six came and went and no sign of my running date.  No biggie.  These things happen, be it down to sleeping in or whatever.

But it struck me … there I was, dressed in my hot adidas gear and being stood up … but did that come with the same disappointment as say a date?  No way hose! 

I went on and had a glorious run … first around the marina then I headed to the giant rocks at the end of JBR, where the fisherman sit in peaceful anticipation. I leapt up and down the piers with childlike enthusiasm as I relished the views of the stunning sea and the silhouette of the Atlantis beyond. When my mid-run munchies attacked me with a vengeance, I popped to the ladies on the promenade for a Ramadan-friendly snack attack. There I got chatting to the toilet attendant, who it turns out is from a region in Nepal where I’ve been running so I got to practise my pigeon Nepali with her much to her delight.

Half eight of so and I arrived home, excited about today, excited about tomorrow, excited about the day after. If only being stood-up by a real date could be met with such carefree joy … if only the dating game full stop could be so simple!

Unlike dating though …

  • running is without pressure or stress
  • you can be totally yourself, think what you want, wear what you want
  • there’s no game playing and no rules
  • you don’t stand in front of a mirror before a run and wonder what the road will think of your outfit
  • you don’t have to listen to its jokes and pretend they’re funny in order to run on it
  • the road doesn’t notice if you’re not wearing lipstick nor does it care how old you are or where you’ve run before
  • you don’t feel uncomfortable if you make more money than the road
  • and you can call on the road, whenever you feel like it, whether it has been a day or even a couple of hours since your last date; the only thing the road cares about is that you pay it a visit once in a while

I repeat … if only dating were so simple!  Perhaps then, there would be less gals out there who settle for Mr Good Enough and hang out instead for Mr Ideal.

 

Posted in: uncategorised