Chaos in Kat

Posted on September 29, 2011

3


The definition of an adventure is an event or series of, with an unknown outcome.

For me, the lure of events in wild and unpredictable places is what attracts me in the first place. A little chaos thrown into the mix is what makes it all the more exciting. It’s what transforms a race into an adventure. And so, I found myself signing up for Action Asia Nepal because no trip to Nepal comes without its dramas! True to form, this trip so far has been no different as my arrival in Kathmandu was not accompanied by my luggage! Everything I need for my race remains at Terminal 2 in DXB. Apparently.

Forty or so other runners, due to arrive this evening currently sit stranded in Hong Kong as a typhoon has grounded plane departures. Not a great start all round then! But try as I might, I can’t help but be fairly chilled out. Stress and strife won’t get my luggage here any quicker so instead I spent the afternoon sipping coffee in Lazimpat and then indulging in a back massage and reflexology. I pray my stuff arrives tonight. If it doesn’t, a plan B shall be found. Either way, this heralds the start of an adventure … before the running even begins!

If any lesson is to be learnt, it is that no amount of planning can ensure the smooth running (no pun intended!) of events. And when the final blister has healed and we reminisce about the days gone by, we shall laugh about this … in which case, we might as well laugh about it now.

The clock strikes seven so high time for a wander in Thamel.

Till the next post then, enjoy whatever adventures knock on your door!

Posted in: uncategorised