Treasured tools

Posted on November 15, 2011

9


I was in Flying Colours printing shop this morning, getting my SBS printed and laminated pre race next week. 

My SBS I hear you cry?!? 

Yes … my SBS, which stands for Self-Belief Sheet.

You see, when times are tough and I need to draw on inner strength, I’m a great believer in having written statements or affirmations to read, review … and believe! They are a brilliant tool for all areas in life … literally positive statements, in the present tense that affirm self-belief in yourself. For my forthcoming Racing the Planet race, my SBS has words about my having the ability to succeed … the will … the strength … that I’ve put in the training and that a strong mind will take me as far as I want to go …

I normally just write these down on a little piece of paper but in light of this being a week-long race and that all my gear may well get wet, I decided to laminate it.

So there I am … in Flying Colours … and the guy, a rather inquisitive dude, started reading it and sort of smirking.  I felt a little embarrassed.  He then asked what it was for.  I hesitated.  Nosy f***er I thought!  I squirmed for an answer at first but then I came to my senses.  Everyone in the entire world could do with an SBS sometimes … studying for exams … communication issues with your mother, lover or other … going for a work promo … trying to lose weight … training for an event … whatever!  So I opened my mouth and I said to him loud and proud …

‘I’m running a race next week and these words are what I will read when I’m having a hard time. These words will give me the strength to continue and help me to have a winning attitude.’

He smiled.  He re-read the entire thing and then turned to me and said, ‘Nice words, I like your approach.’

I left and now have my little laminated card, ready and waiting to slot into my backpack.  Nice words indeed and I like my approach too.

Try it yourself.  It’s just one of the little tools to have in your toolkit when you find yourself in need of a little repair.

Posted in: uncategorised