Musings from Muscat

Posted on February 25, 2012

0


I write this post from Muscat airport consoling my imminent departure with a Massimo Americano (with skinny milk Rob!).

The purpose of my trip was a Via Ferrata adventure with Muscat Diving & Adventure Centre.  And the result?  A truly fab weekend that I’m not ready to see end.

My Via Ferrata experience will soon be covered in all its glory in my Adventure Chick column in Outdoor UAE magazine (March issue) … for this reason, I shan’t spoil it now by giving too much away. What I will say is this:

If you live in Dubai and want to escape the bright lights and the zing of bling, do so by escaping to Muscat. Oman is a true adventure playground and Muscat, marvellous Muscat, a chilled out town that redefines friendliness and fabulous-ness.

Getting there is easy.  I didn’t want to drive the 4-5 hours solo … with my track record, it would have meant 4-5 speeding tickets and at least one minor collision, most probably with the likes of a lamp post. So I flew and the return ticket was AED 500 with Oman Air.  Same price as lots of DXB brunches. (enough said!)

Muscat Diving & Adventure Centre is a true gem of a place.  The activities on offer are extensive from caving and canyoning, trekking and climbing, scuba, sea kayaking and much much more.  They cater for virgin adventurers and seasoned pros, little kids and big kids, every possible nationality and every possible time-frame. They’ve been around a long time and the entire team felt like old friends within minutes of arriving.

For those not out camping and needing a bed in Muscat, you needn’t even resort to a soulless overpriced hotel room thanks to the super cool guesthouse they have in town.

My flight is being called so I shall finish this here but I can well and truly say that I shall be back here before long and when you discover MDAC for yourself, you’ll understand why.

Posted in: uncategorised