The king of chiro

Posted on April 24, 2012

4


Since my fabulous treatment with the queen of the colon, Kay Vosloo, we met up for lunch last week at Sophies … an absolute find on the Palm Shoreline.  We chatted about all sorts … health, wellness, food, friends you name it … and then a couple of days ago she introduced me to Dr Merchoud aka Zak, a chiro at her practice.  Zak too is a runner so naturally Kay put two and two together and knew that we’d get along like crackers and cheese or fish fingers and peas.

Zak is an ex track and field champion runner and used to represent Morocco in the 90’s. He competed in the world 1,500m in France, in the Cross Country Championships in Boston, World Student Games in the US and he gained a track and field scholarship for the Louisiana State University. Impressive, non?!

So this afternoon, I paid Zak a visit for a rave about our shared love for running and for an ‘adjustment’.  In fact, Zak will now be giving me an adjustment pre every race.  This I LOVE … not only because it makes me feel like a bit of a pro (!) but also because so often, in the ultra running podcasts I listen to, interviewees discuss how they see chiropractic treatment not as a necessity when injury strikes nor as a luxury when funds permit but rather as just a maintenance tool … much like a monthly massage, a regular manicure or a Tuesday Ladies Night I suppose …

Chiropractors are actually pretty awesome practitioners. They assess, diagnose, treat and prevent conditions of the spine, joints, muscles and nervous system. We put such huge demands on our bodies day in, day out so it’s important to ensure they are functioning optimally.

Treatment benefits include:

  • Improved movement in your neck, shoulders and back
  • Improved posture
  • Relief from headaches, back and neck pain
  • Prevention from work-related muscle and joint injuries
  • Enhanced athletic performance
  • Improved flexibility and range of motion
  • Correction of gait and foot problems

I imagine then that most people, whether you run silly distances or not, could do with chiro treatment every now and then. Even after my one visit I feel fabulous and there wasn’t even anything wrong in the first place. Of course, this might also be down to the fact that Dr Zak is devilishly handsome and utterly charming … which leads me to wonder … why save Tuesdays for Ladies Nights when we can have ‘adjustment afternoons’ instead?! I for one can’t wait for my next adjustment!

Posted in: uncategorised