Salsa for Senses

Posted on April 25, 2012

0


I don’t normally plug events that I’m not involved in or indeed anything that I don’t experience myself but in this case, I make an exception because it’s a fantastic cause that I want to support. Besides, given that the event in question is a dance show combined with my having two rhythmically challenged left feet, means that any personal involvement in this show would be a disaster. In fact, people would be paying to get me off the stage.

The Rotaract Club of Jumeirah work tirelessly throughout the year to put on fabulous fund-raisers for local charities.  One such charity is Senses Residential & Day Care for Special Needs.  I know Senses … in the past, I have volunteered there … playing with the kids / young adults and also helping with ‘household’ duties such as ironing … yes, really … I might not do my own but found it quite fun doing other people’s at Senses! It’s a fantastic centre and you can’t help but feel very rewarded interacting with the incredibly special people who are cared for there.

On May 26th the Rotaract Club are putting on a dance show at the American University of Dubai. Named ‘Dance my Community’, all proceeds from the event will go towards Senses. It follows last year’s runaway success with their ‘Fashion my Community’ event.

The show will see dancers from throughout the UAE putting on a great performance and given the sheer diversity of nationalities and cultures we have in this melting pot of ours, you can be guaranteed a fun-filled evening covering everything from hip-hop, break dance and street dance to salsa, tango and Dubai Drums.

If free on May 26th, why not go along?  Kill two birds by having a fabulous evening at the same time as supporting this wonderful cause? I strongly suspect it’ll be quite a show and hey, it might even get you in the mood to get your dancing shoes on yourself … as for me, just writing this post is seeing me sway my hips and get into the swing.  Might have to pay my long-loved Zumba or Sh’bam class a visit …

For more information about the Rotary Club of Jumeirah, visit www. rotaryjumeirah.org

Posted in: uncategorised