Kudos for Kenkoh’s

Posted on November 26, 2012

0


When the lovely PR gals for Kenkoh Massage Footwear asked if they could send a pair my way, of course, I said yes.  After two 100km races this month alone, my feet can certainly do with some tender loving care and there are only so many pedicures one can have … yes, even in Dubai! Besides, pink shoes for a gal who makes Immelda Marcos’s shoe collection look paltry? No brainer!

What I didn’t expect however is to fall head over heals with them. I kid you not … they truly are THE most comfortable soles and they genuinely do everything they say on the tin.

Intrigued?

  • Hailing from Japan, Kenkoh shoes are all about improving health through reflexology … so basically, you can go about your day whilst getting the benefits of reflexology therapy whilst you do so. Nice!
  • Reflexology techniques have been around for thousands of years amongst Egyptians, Chinese and Japanese as a highly effective stimulation therapy
  • Beneath your feet lie hundreds of little massage nodules contured to the shape of your feet. These stimulate your soles at different points, boosting oxygen delivery and subsequently maximising the performance of your organs
  • They massage your feet, alleviate tension, reduce stress, improve circulation, boost your immune system, relieve back pain, increase energy levels, treat arthritis and so so much more
  • They also reduce fatigue and lower your pulse, although I think the pulse rates of all us super fit runners could probably do with being a little higher not lower …
  • They even help to maintain that harmonious physiological balance we all love to seek
  • Actual studies have been performed to assess their suitability as an alternative healing method and they were found to have extensive positive medical advantages
  • They’re even a fantastic aid if you’re pregnant as they alleviate discomfort, reduce swelling, combat nausea and help with stress and anxiety
  • And finally, from a runners / sports point of view, I guess there are so many variables that can inhibit our performance. Our bodies are a complex system of interconnected organs, nerves, arteries and veins that function together, enabling us to perform and if the use of reflexology pressure points via a hot pink pair of Kenkoh’s means we help this system best perform, then what’s not to love?

Whereas normally I would get home, kick off my shoes and hang out barefoot, I have instead been donning my own pair before the door is even closed behind me … so kudos for Kenkohs … I think you might just become a sole staple in my life …

x

 

Posted in: uncategorised