Greatest squared

Posted on December 28, 2012


UntitledTis the time of year for lists … the best of the best of everything compiled into lists galore so we can debate to our heart’s content on their worthy. I came across a list yesterday of 2012’s most influential health and fitness people … and within it were a few people who I think deserve an even greater shout out, this time on no other than www.fitchicksandfastwomen

They are people who have inspired and driven me throughout 2012 … and I have no doubt will continue to shine in 2013.

  • Jillian Michaels, Trainer and TV Personality


Forget the cheesy weight-loss reality shows and read her books!  Jillian Michaels is a true superstar.  Her book ‘Unlimited’, I’ve listened to several times.  She changes the way you will see your past, your present and your future. Most of all, she reminds us that we are 100% accountable and responsible for getting what we want out of our lives.

  • Tim Ferriss, Author


With his book, ‘The 4-Hour Work Week’, this man has enabled millions in all four corners to realise their dream life by creating a career from their passion and working to live not vice versa.  My approach entirely.

  • Gretchen Rubin, Author

I blogged about her book, ‘The Happiness Project‘ not long ago. It’s a beautiful read with a ton of takeaways and I’ve since passed my dog-eared copy on to many who too have absorbed her words like a sponge does water.

  • Mark Sisson, Author

Mark is the king of Paleo. I don’t personally follow any strict diet but Paleo is all about going back to basics with fresh, organic and unprocessed foods. He’s an ex-marathoner and Ironman and his blog, Mark’s Daily Apple, is bursting to the brim with great articles and advice, tips and tricks to achieve primal living in a modern world.

  • Leo Babauta, Author


Another rock star I have written about in the past Leo Babauta, of Zen Habits fame, is responsible for keeping millions sane with tips on everything from how to focus at work and how best to manage time to how to be mindful and find peace and happiness in our crazy worlds. I heart you Leo!

  • Jamie Oliver, Chef and Healthy Eating Advocate


So he is a bit everywhere now and a tad too ‘cheeky chappy’ … but he continues to be revolutionary in changing the way kids eat and for that, he will influence generations. Word on the grapevine is that he plans to conquer the UAE next and with our issues with diabetes and obesity, this will be no bad thing!

Of course, this list was all about those who had the greatest influence slash reach worldwide. If I were to compile my own, those people above that featured on that list would also feature on my list. As for who else? I’m constantly reminded in life that inspiration is such a two-way street. There are a handful of people here in Dubai and further afield who inspire me no end and whose energy, support and advice make me want to be the best I can be. They know who they are …

I wonder who would make your list? Something to debate over the weekend …

Posted in: uncategorised