Love & luck

Posted on January 24, 2013


Untitled 2Today’s post has nothing to do with health and fitness … it relates instead to wellness  … emotional and mental wellness … matters of the mind and of the heart.

Here goes. Earlier this week, I received a call from my ex husband aka H1 to say he was getting remarried.  If truth be known, it felt like a slap in the face and there were a few tears. Why?  I’m not sure.  We’ve been apart a long time and split very amicably after ten years together. We’ve remained good friends since.  Still, I think I felt like it made what we once had suddenly redundant, overlooked by another (and younger!) model so to speak.

Later that day however, I got an email regarding a funding application I’d made for Hamro Gaun, the amazing eco village and orphanage I volunteered at last summer. Success!  Request submitted, accepted and approved.  The funds will literally feed, care for and educate the entire operation for a year. I was tickled pink and spent the rest of the day realising just how fortunate I am … indeed, we all are.

You see, if our biggest pains and strains stem from matters of the heart then we’re so very lucky. Most of the world just focus on matters of food, shelter and medicine etc, not through choice but because they have to.

Timely then that I had a conversation with my friend Jill this week too. She’s just back from the US and said she was delighted to return to Dubai. She feels disconnected from America now, a place she once called home.  Again, we discussed how very lucky we are to be able to live here as expats and live a pretty phenomenal lifestyle entirely on our own terms.  We’re here because we want to be and when we decide to leave, we will do so.  Many here aren’t so lucky.  There are tens of thousands of workers here from Asia and the sub-continent who have left behind their wives and kids because unemployment in their home countries is rife and their earning capacity here will literally feed and clothe their kids back at base.

Top thought for today then: the next time you get tripped up, just dust yourself off, stand up tall and get on with your day. Doing anything but this makes a mockery of our overall good fortune and exceptionally privileged lifestyles.

Have a wonderful weekend and H1, I really do wish you both all the very best … she’s a lucky girl and you’ll go into this marriage as an exceptionally well-trained husband!

x

Posted in: uncategorised