Cleansing for virgins

Posted on March 10, 2013

2


Beginners-flatWe’ve all picked up Grazia a million times and read about some crazy cleanse that promises that you’ll lose half your body weight by next weekends party or return to your pre-pregnancy body weight 3 ½ days after giving birth. You ask yourself, ‘how hard can it be?’ But in reality, the answer is very hard and I personally wouldn’t last until lunchtime.

Besides, such methods are nothing but downright dangerous.

The thought takes me back to my school days when sponsored fastings were all the rage … twelve hours without food, for a good cause.  The ‘good cause’ amongst the girls at my boarding school however was less about helping others and more about squeezing into some unforgiving LBD at the school disco with hem lines so short, the world was our gynaecologist.

So when Essentially came along, a super cool company dedicated to raw juice supplements and cleanses, I researched with interest but thought the supplements would be more up my street than the cleanses themselves. I mean, just six juices per day and nothing else but water or herbal tea? Not exactly enough to support a long-distance runner!

Fast forward and I sit and type this half way through day one after intrigue winning me over.

The delivery arrived last night … three days worth of six juices per day, beautifully packaged and genuinely looking quite tasty. It’s not a cleanse that’s about extreme weightloss by any means … one juice is even Cashew Milk and includes coconut butter. No, it’s more about giving your body a rest from the constant stress we put it under, aiding our digestive system, eliminating toxins and restoring balance.

Each juice is numbered to indicate the order you have them in.  So far, I’ve had Green Juice (cucumber, celery, apple, spinach, parsley, lemon and ginger) and P.A.M (pineapple, apple and mint) … both tasted pretty good actually, especially the latter. It was delish.

With only 1,000 kcal per day, I shan’t be running or training that’s for sure but I still plan to go to my evening yoga classes. It’s far too early to say I’m feeling wonderful and vibrant … in fact, if truth be known, I’m suffering enormous withdrawals from my regular caffeine injections and would murder a slap up lunch. Still, I don’t doubt for a second that come Wednesday I shall feel fabulous and in the meantime, I’ve booked in a couple of massages, some sublime sauna time and lots of solo work time because a hungry Tori isn’t always a very nice Tori …

I’m excited. I suspect Essentially might start playing an ongoing role in my life … the odd cleanse and regular supplements, the perfect solution to keep energy levels sky-high when we’re living the non-stop lives that we do. 

The company only officially launched last week but it hasn’t taken long for the word to spread so if you’ve yet to check them out, I suggest you do!

More to come …

Need to know:

Visit: www.essentially.ae

Cleanse: Three types – Revitalisation, Extension and Transformation.  I’m doing Revitalisation.

Duration: Three or five days.

Posted in: uncategorised