Essentially essential

Posted on March 13, 2013

0


yom_juice_me_text_disney_mousepad-p144714621593630288en7lc_216Day 3 signaled the end of my Essentially Revitalisation cleanse. I should have been gearing up with excitement to normal food and naughty treats again but if truth be known, I had to cheat. Just a little. Insatiable hunger is one thing. Americano deprivation another. Combined and subject to an already hot-blooded female, it just proved too much.

I can honestly say however that it really isn’t that hard.  I personally just score quite low on the willpower scale and quite high on the ‘love to eat’ one. Still, despite slight deviation from the plan, I have to say that I feel great. Lighter, more energetic and just cleaner somehow. Revitalised, just as the name suggests. In this super short time, I feel my skin is glowing that little bit more, my eyes glistening a little extra and my stomach noticeably less bloated.

I think I speak for many when I say that I often think about buying a fancy juicer and making weird and wonderful energy-boosting, life-enhancing concoctions but the reality is, we live in a fast-paced world with constant demands and that goes for everyone. Whether a mother juggling kids, a professional juggling her career or an athlete finding time to train, rest and recover, lack of time is often the root cause of nutrition on the run and the often poor choices that this leads to.

Having an option to have these incredible juices delivered directly to your door then is a godsend. They’re affordable and there are options for all, be it full on one, three or five-day cleanses, beginners, intermediate or advanced … or just regular injections of juices as nutritional supplements. Work Hard, Play Hard, Skinny Jeans, Exerciser … they all do what they say on the box!

Thanks to Essentially’s hydraulic press system, all the juices contain up to five times the vitamin and mineral content of those produced by a standard juicer. This also means that the live enzymes remain intact for longer, which is essential for preserving nutrients and flavour.

My cleanse involved five different juices (two daily bottles of the Green Juice).

  • P.A.M (Pineapple, Apple, Mint) is light, fresh and so terribly more-ish, you forget that it’s actually super good for you
  • Spicy Lemonade contains water, lemon, agave and cayenne.  It’s hot, spicy and a blood-pumping, thirst-quenching metabolism booster full of anti-oxidants
  • Cashew Milk. Two words … absolutely delicious. Containing vanilla essence, coconut butter, sea salt, cashew, water and agave nectar, it’s a little bit like having a large glass of Baileys on ice except it’s full of goodness and the essential fats that keep our brains and our bodies beautiful!
  • Red Roots is bursting with beetroot, carrot, apple, orange, celery and ginger. It’s packed with iron so perfect if you’re on the move, training or needing a short, sharp injection of energy
  • The Green Juice was probably my least favourite but it couldn’t contain a better combo of nutrient-heavy ingredients. Think cucumber, celery, apple, spinach, lemon, parsley and ginger. It’s super light, über cleansing and you actually feel yourself feeling cleaner inside as you sip it. I kid you not!

So, so long Essentially and till the next …

I shall go for a supplements package next but there’s no way this is the last cleanse I’ll do. Needless to say however, I think I’ll stick to the Essentially Revitalisation (beginners) programme again and just work on eliminating on the cheating before I graduate to the next level!

To read more about the specific benefits of each juice, click here.

Posted in: uncategorised