Excuse abuse

Posted on June 26, 2013

1


no-more-excusesHere in Dubai, it’s that time of year when your alarm goes off and it’s so tempting to not get out and run … it’s baking hot by dawn and if you’re like me and already pressed snooze one too many times, the sun is shining at super strength, long before you’ve laced up those trainers.  So it seemed perfect timing the other morning when I woke up to a mail about the excuses we tell ourselves not to get up and train.  I wonder how many resonate with you?!

We tell ourselves:

‘If I just let lie here for another half hour, I’ll feel more refreshed and get a better run in later.’

But the truth is:

If we lie idle in bed and miss our run, we feel more tired and less refreshed. Fact! We’re then behind on our training intentions and the likelihood is, we won’t run later!

We tell ourselves:

‘I should save myself for the big race!’

But the truth is:

Of course, in the run up to race we should lay off the mileage but I think sometimes we rest too much before race day which just leaves us feeling anxious, restless, more fat and less fit.

We tell ourselves:

‘I ate too much last night so I feel too bloated to run today.’

But the truth is:

Getting out there for a run will certainly get rid of the bloat and help burn off the nutella on toast / late night schwarma / mojito and bar nuts binge (delete as appropriate)

We tell ourselves:

‘My training this week is ruined because we’re a few days in and I’ve so far replaced training with dinner / drinks / other fun stuff so might as well start over next week.’

But the truth is:

Uh, a lame excuse, which will only leave you feeling depressed because you’ve missed out on all those running endorphins. Breaking a dry spell is tough, for sure. Especially at the moment with our relentless temperatures, but start afresh TODAY and just get back in the swing!

We tell ourselves:

‘I don’t have enough time for a decent run so there’s no point going out at all’

But the truth is:

Oh dear, I hear myself using this one often! And to make matters worse, have a giant brekkie instead which should normally be reserved for the post-run days not the slept-in-instead days. Any time is better than no time and you can easily get in a great workout if you can slot in some speed work or hill repeats. (Both alien to me but I regularly hear other runners talking about both!!)

We tell ourselves:

‘I’ll lie in today and just run twice tomorrow.’

But the truth is:

It’s highly unlikely that two runs will happen tomorrow because life gets in the way!  Busy calendars, work demands, social engagements, friends, family, lovers, others … whatever.  A stitch in time saves nine so just get out and run today instead of spending the entire day feeling guilty …

We tell ourselves:

It’s too hot / too humid / too windy / too polluted / too …’

But the truth is:

Crappy weather conditions are perfect for training because when it comes to race day, we have no choice but to get out and face the elements. Your mind can always find an excuse not to run so just start managing the chimp …

We tell ourselves:

‘Oh, I can’t possibly run today after all last nights wine / G&T / mojito indulgence. I feel too jaded …’

But the truth is:

Running will help to sweat out last night’s indulgence and help us recover faster. It’s also great for mental strength / endurance training because we make ourselves run when we don’t really feel up to it.

So there you go. I don’t believe there’s a runner out there who hasn’t nodded and smirked reading at least a few of these. I know I’ve been guilty of them all but the next time I attempt to pull the wool over my eyes, I shall raise this post and get out that damn door … (starting tomorrow, she promises herself, as she taps away horizontally from her air-conditioned boudoir) 

Posted in: uncategorised