The magic of meditation

Posted on August 13, 2013

4


past-presentThis morning I had one of the most magical runs in a while. I left home late, after 8am and the sun was already beating down, so decided to hit the beach where I could catch some wind and tire myself out more quickly on the sand. Bypassing the beach in the end, I opted instead to revisit a route of old where I used to race up and down the giant rocks on the pier … great big boulders, often sharp, all uneven and requiring some serious hot-footing.

I ran up and down, up and down, stopping at each end to catch my breath and chat to the fisherman casting their nets. And it occurred to me that running on this sort of terrain is a truly wonderful backdrop for meditation. There is simply no opportunity to lose razor-sharp focus, no chance to consider even a few steps ahead. My monkey mind was far from sight as all I thought about was the very next step.

You see, meditation is really just about being totally mindful, in the present, in the HERE and NOW. It isn’t, contrary to popular belief, reserved for spiritual hippy types. It certainly isn’t just for yoga-pant wearing gap year kids hanging around Thailand! In fact, meditation should be required practise for every stressed-out executive, burnt-out mother, over-worked manager and worn out athlete. And, indeed everyone and anyone because a little mindful meditation on a daily basis keeps stress and burn out at bay full stop.

It also struck me as quite magical how meditation is all about quitting our constant plotting and planning, dreaming and scheming and being focused entirely on the present instead … yet successfully do this and you find yourself flooded with the most incredible clarity about who you are, what you want and where you want your future directed. And this of course, is what we need to plot and plan, dream and scheme!

In other words,

“The present moment is the substance with which the future is made.

Therefore, the best way to take care of the future

is to take care of the present moment.

What else can you do?”

― Thich Nhat Hanh, The Art of Mindful Living

I raced back and now tap away, feeling giddy with excitement about the future, thanks in full to being in the here and in the now. Could there be any better way to start your day? Meditation just sharpens everything. It keeps life fresh and so very very fabulous …

x

Posted in: uncategorised