Hot Yoga 200

Posted on March 26, 2014


Hot ~Yoga poster Mar14 (2)In a few short months I start my yoga teacher training here in Durban. I’m excited and have been spending a lot of time thinking about it… in particular, my motivations for dedicating so much time to my practice, even though I don’t really have an intention to teach…

My answer, I realised the other week at the most sublime yoga and meditation retreat at KZN’s Buddhist Retreat Centre. Our teacher there, spoke of yoga being like relationships… how both need to grow and develop or else they become stale and stagnant. Similarly, a good bottle of red must continually be turned to allow it to evolve, mature and improve (funny how all in life boils down to the core essentials of love and wine isn’t it?!)

And therein lay my own motivation for doing a Teacher Training course… because I want to keep growing, evolving and developing my practice.

As for choosing this particular teacher and programme over the extensive options in all four corners? I suspect I’ve probably enjoyed the experience of more than 100 teachers in my time and have been recommended to countless others by friends whose opinion and referrals I totally value. So what drew me to this one?

I think we just had a connection from day one. Different lives, different backgrounds but a twinkle in the eye and a smile shared is sometimes all it takes to know you’re on the same wavelength as someone… to realise that they have so much to teach you and you them, not only about yoga but about life in general.

The teacher in question is Haseena Peer and our 200-hour Hot Yoga training takes place this August and September. It’s a more forgiving format than many intensive month-long programmes with a week on / week off set up over the two months. This leaves plenty of time in between our training to read, reflect, absorb and practise.

I think about Haseena’s regular classes at The Breathing Space in Glenwood and the way they make me feel after 75 minutes of intense heat and hard work. Beyond the poses and the postures, it’s her words that really make her stand apart.

I love it when she talks of intentions and integrity, of confidence and courage. I listen intently when she says we must be guided by our hopes rather than our fears. I absorb her words when she speaks of having the determination of a British Bulldog and the strength of  a Bengalese Tiger. Even on days when I arrive to class, sapped of energy, somehow that 75 minutes of sometimes heaven and other times far from it, revives me, replenishes me and I leave with a full set of batteries. I leave feeling empowered, invincible, like I can do anything if I put my mind to it. I also leave full of respect for my body – for what it can do – and for my mind – for how it can focus.

When we reach that final Savasana, I’m sometimes relieved that we’re done and other times, elated yet disappointed our sequence is finished. I guess this is how it should be. If things were always easy and enjoyable, they wouldn’t be half as rewarding.

For those who’ve ever had an inkling to do their own teacher training, I can’t recommend this one enough. I know already it will be wonderful and having practised often with those who did Haseena’s 2013 course, I know I’m not alone in thinking this.

To enquire, contact Haseena Peer at haspeer12@gmail.com … and hope to see you on the mats!

Namaste

x

Posted in: uncategorised